Strictly Come Dancing gets new spin-off show as BBC bosses insist it's going to be unforgettable

the Strictly Come Dancing logo
Strictly Come Dancing -Credit:PA

Just days after Strictly Come Dancing won the BAFTA for Best Entertainment programme, the BBC have teased that there will be a special spin-off show as part of Strictly’s 20th anniversary celebrations. To mark the show’s birthday, and to celebrate the fact that it is the BBC’s most successful entertainment series, the special Strictly will look back on some of the best and most memorable moments from the series over the years.

Kalpna Patel-Knight, Head of Entertainment at the BBC, said: “Throughout its 20-year history, the show has launched careers, sparked trends, and touched the hearts of millions with its dazzling performances, emotional journeys, and unforgettable moments and we will be showcasing it all in this very special programme.”

Ed Balls and Katya Jones dancing on Strictly in 2016
Ed Balls and Katya Jones competing in 2016 -Credit:BBC/Guy Levy

While more details of the anniversary special are currently under wraps, Suzy Lamb, Managing Director, BBC Studios Entertainment, added: “From glittering Ballroom numbers to high-energy Latin routines, the show continues to push the boundaries of dance and entertainment and we want viewers to join us in raising a toast to 20 years of sparkle and shine in the Strictly Come Dancing ballroom.”

The show is likely to feature the many stand out moments from two decades of dance that began in 2004, when news presenter Natasha Kaplinsky took the first glitterball home with dance partner Brendan Cole. Previous winners include Britain’s Got Talent’s Alesha Dixon, comedian Bill Bailey, gymnast Louis Smith and McFly drummer Harry Judd, but it is some of the contestants who didn’t win who provided the series with the most unforgettable dances.

Anton du Beke, Shirley Ballas, Motsi Mabuse and Craig Revel Horwood of Strictly Come Dancing
Strictly Come Dancing judges Anton du Beke, Shirley Ballas, Motsi Mabuse and Craig Revel Horwood. -Credit:BBC

Who can forget Anton du Beke swinging politician Ann Widdecombe around the dance floor, Ed Balls, with partner Katya Jones, dancing to ‘Gangnam Style,’ or astrologer Russell Grant being fired out of a cannon?

And then there are the judges and hosts, who are as unforgettable as the celebrities and professional dancers who have appeared on the show. When the series launched 20 years ago, it was Sir Bruce Forsyth who hosted alongside Tess Daly, while the four judges were Bruno Tonioli, Craig Revel Horwood, Arlene Phillips, and Len Goodman.

Bruce retired at the end of 2013, and sadly died four years later, and presenting duties have been shared ever since between Tess and Claudia Winkleman. The judging panel has gone through some changes too, with Alesha Dixon and Dame Darcey Bussell both joining the team for a few years and Bruno Tonioli and the late Len Goodman both departing.

The current judging panel is made up of former pro-dancers Anton Du Beke and Motsi Mabuse, alongside dancer Shirley Ballas and Craig Revel Horwood.