Naomi Campbell to receive the CFDA Icon Award

Photo credit: Getty
Photo credit: Getty

From Harper's BAZAAR

Naomi Campbell will be the recipient of this years Fashion Icon honour at the CFDA Awards in June. The Council of Fashion Designers of America confirmed the news today, reports The Cut.

Campbell follows in the footsteps of other high-profile recipients of the award - many of whom are friends of hers - including Rihanna, Beyoncé and Kate Moss, who have all been declared CFDA "Fashion Icons" in the past.

Photo credit: Getty
Photo credit: Getty

Other industry names to be honoured during this year's ceremony will include Diane von Furstenberg (recognised for her work for Positive Change); Narciso Rodriguez (Lifetime Achievement); and Carolina Herrera (the Founder's Award). Donatella Versace will receive the International Award, rounding off a year which saw her honouring the legacy of her brother, Gianni Versace, to mark the 20th anniversary of his death.

Issa Rae will be the CFDA Awards' first-ever female host of the ceremony which will take place on 4 June at the Brooklyn Museum in New York. As ever, we're expecting the fashion world's biggest names and brightest talents to attend in celebration of this year's award winners and nominees.

Full list of nominees below:

Womenswear designer of the year

Raf Simons, Calvin Klein

Gabriella Hearst, Gabriella Hearst

Marc Jacobs, Marc Jacobs,

Virgil Abloh, Off-White

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Menswear designer of the year

Raf Simons, Calvin Klein

Virgil Abloh, Off-White


Thom Browne, Thom Browne

Tom Ford, Tom Ford

Accessories designer of the year

Paul Andrew, Paul Andrew

Stuart Vevers, Coach

Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Irene Neuwirth, Irene Neuwirth

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Swarovski award for emerging talent

Mike Amiri, Amiri

Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock, Brock Collection

Aurora James, Brother Vellies

Kerby Jean-Raymond, Pyer Moss

Sander Lak, Sies Marjan