The most popular love language revealed: What are they and which one is yours?

Young man embracing girlfriend while kissing on her forehead in living room at home love language
The most popular love language has been revealed. (Getty Images)

The way we love others and want to be loved can be categorised into five different ‘love languages’.

Created by pastor Gary Chapman some three decades ago, who was working as a marriage counsellor at the time, who observed that people have five different ways of expressing and understanding love.

These include: words of affirmation, receiving gifts, quality time, physical touch, and acts of service.

Now, new data from Tinder has revealed what the most popular love language is.

Tinder’s annual ‘Year in Swipe’ report for 2023 found that quality time was the most popular love language, followed by physical touch and acts of service.

Love languages ranked by popularity

  1. Quality time

  2. Physical touch

  3. Acts of service

  4. Words of affirmation

  5. Receiving gifts

Other data from the report found that people prefer meeting in person or texting as their main form of communication with a love interest, while most singles rank the Scottish accent as their favourite, followed by and Essex accent and a Welsh.

Yet, with quality time being ranked as the best love language, how do you know which one is yours?

The five love languages, explained

Quality time

People who like quality time love to spend uninterrupted time with their significant other. This doesn’t have to mean staring into each other's eyes, but it does mean putting your phone down and being present. Quality timers love to know that they are being listened to.

love languag
Physical touch is the second most popular love language. (Getty Images)

Physical touch

Any form of physical affection is preferred for those whose love language is physical touch. This can include hugs, kisses, holding hands, or something as simple as a hand on the knee while you’re watching telly.

Acts of service

Do you feel a surge of love for your partner when they take out the bins? If so, your love language is probably acts of service. This love language includes any nice or thoughtful gesture done with making your life easier in mind.

Words of affirmation

Compliment lovers, your love language is words of affirmation. You love to hear that you look good when you’ve put in a bit of effort, or that your partner likes your new shirt or hair cut. You also seek reassurance in your relationship, and love to hear your partner say ‘I love you’.

Receiving gifts

If your love language is receiving gifts, this doesn’t just mean that you like having presents given to you (although you love that!) but it can also mean that you love giving presents too.

Young couple with gift box hugging at home. Valentine's Day concept. Happy couple in love with. A young loving couple celebrating Valentine's Day at the home. Lovers give each other gifts. Romance home for Valentine's Day- concept
Giving and receiving gifts is one type of love language. (Getty Images)

Why are love languages important?

As Chapman said, love languages are a way for us to express our love and understand how others show theirs.

Knowing our own love language is just as important as knowing our partners, as we can recognise that some things they are doing might be their way of showing love towards us.

How to find your love language

If you’re still confused about what your love language is, you can head to this website and take a simple test:

Love languages: Read more

Watch: Do you know your pet's love language?