Keep Iowa Beautiful annual award winners announced

Apr. 17—DES MOINES — Recipients of the Keep Iowa Beautiful organization's annual awards attended a ceremony at the Capitol with Governor Kim Reynolds on Monday.

"The Keep Iowa Beautiful award program recognizes exceptional people and organizations that have gone above and beyond to create positive change in Iowa communities," Executive Director Andy Frantz said. "Creating a stronger sense of pride in communities helps to improve the cultural and economic vitality where we live, work, and raise a family."

The Keep Iowa Beautiful Corporation Award was given to Wellmark for supporting community development efforts and collaboratively identifying challenges and opportunities for Iowa's rural communities.

The Keep Iowa Beautiful Organization Award was given to Empower Rural Iowa for empowering communities and resource providers to engage in collaboration and create positive change for rural Iowa.

The Keep Iowa Beautiful Robert D. Ray Award of Excellence was given to both the community of Perry for fostering community engagement and historic preservation efforts through the work of local leaders and volunteers and the community of Camanche for building strong community partnerships through Hometown Pride to enhance the community and its local amenities.

The Keep Iowa Beautiful Donald F. Lamberti Hometown Pride Vision Award winner was Sandy Ehrig for her long-time support and service to improving the quality of life in our state and making rural Iowa a better place to live and raise a family.

Keep Iowa Beautiful is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the vitality and cultural health of Iowa's communities.