Women’s Prize for Fiction 2019 shortlist announced

Laura Hampson

The UK’s most prestigious annual book awards celebrating works of fiction by women has today announced its shortlist.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction winner will be announced at a ceremony on June 5 this year, and the shortlist recognises the diversity of women’s voices from around the world.

You can see the full shortlist below.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist 2019

The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker

My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Milkman by Anna Burns

Ordinary People by Diana Evans

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

Circe by Madeline Miller

The list includes Milkman by Anna Burns , the winner of the 2018 Man Booker Prize, alongside debut author Oyinkan Braithwaite and Madeline Miller who has previously won the Orange Prize for Fiction.

Women's Prize for Fiction Shortlist 2019 (Women's Prize for Fiction/Sam Holden Agency)

Now in its 24th year, the judges for this year’s awards include University of Reading alum, Professor Kate Williams, best-selling author Dolly Alderton, journalist Arifa Akbar, psychotherapist Leyla Hussein and entrepreneur Sarah Wood.

Prof. Kate Williams said: “It’s a fantastic shortlist; exciting, vibrant, and adventurous. We fell totally in love with these books and the amazing worlds they created. These books are fiction at its best - brilliant, courageous and utterly captivating.”

The Women's Prize for Fiction 2019 judges. (L-R) Dolly Alderton, Arifa Akbar, Professor Kate Williams and Leyla Hussein (Women's Prize for Fiction/Sam Holden Agency)

The ultimate winner of the prize announced in June will be awarded with a cheque for £30,000.