Ukraine Joins NATO's Cyber Defense Center in Estonia

The Ukrainian flag was raised at the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defense Center of Excellence (CCDCOE) in Tallinn, Estonia, on May 16 as Ukraine and three other non-NATO states – Iceland, Ireland and Japan – joined the center as contributing participants.

The ceremony coincided with the 15th anniversary of the CCDCOE.

The CCDCOE, comprising 30 NATO member states and eight non-NATO states, aims “to support our member nations and NATO with unique interdisciplinary expertise in the field of cyber defense research, training and exercises covering the focus areas of technology, strategy, operations and law,” according to its mission statement.

Ukraine’s Ambassador to Estonia, Mariana Betsa, said her country’s accession to the CCDCOE was “historic” and had brought Ukraine “one step closer to NATO.”

Prime Minister of Estonia Kaja Kallas said she was “glad to welcome Ukraine, Iceland, Japan, and Ireland” to the CCDCOE, and said Ukraine’s “expertise in countering Russian cyberattacks” would be of particular value. Credit: @en_estonia via Storyful

Video transcript