R.E.M., Steely Dan And Timbaland Among This Year’s Songwriters Hall Of Fame Inductees

R.E.M., Steely Dan, Timbaland, and songwriters Dean Pitchford (“Footloose”) and Hillary Lindsey (“Jesus Take the Wheel”) are this year’s inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame, the organization announced today.

The 2024 induction ceremony and Awards Gala is set for Thursday, June 13, at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

More from Deadline

“I’ve said it before, but the music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first,” SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers said in a statement that this year’s inductees represent “not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity and gender.” He added that this year’s songwriters “have enriched our lives and literally enriched music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world.”

In today’s announcement, the Hall of Fame listed key songs in the inductees’ catalogs:

Hillary Lindsey:

  • Jesus Take The Wheel * Girl Crush * Blue Ain’t Your Color * Always Remember Us This Way * Million Reasons *

Timothy Mosley p/k/a Timbaland:

  • SexyBack * Get Ur Freak On * Pony * Big Pimpin’ * The Way I Are *

Dean Pitchford:

  • Footloose * Fame * Holding Out For A Hero * All The Man That I Need * Let’s Hear It For The Boy *

Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills & Michael Stipe p/k/a R.E.M.:

  • Losing My Religion * Everybody Hurts * It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine) * Radio Free Europe * The One I Love *

Donald Fagen and Walter Becker p/k/a Steely Dan:

  • Reelin’ in the Years * My Old School * Rikki Don’t Lose That Number * Black Friday * Kid Charlemagne *

The SHOF was Established in 1969, and requires that inductees have a notable catalog of songs, with eligibility for induction 20 years after the first commercial release of a song.

Among the songwriters nominated last fall but passed over for induction this year are Bryan Adams, the Guess Who’s Randy Bachman & Burton Cummings, Debbie Harry, Chris Stein & Clem Burke of Blondie, Tracy Chapman, Bread’s David Gates, George Clinton, the Doobie Brothers’ Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons & Michael McDonald, Heart’s Ann Wilson & Nancy Wilson, Kenny Loggins, and Public Enemy’s Chuck D and Flavor Flav. Also not inducted: Tony Macaulay, writer of classic bubblegum hits “Build Me Up Buttercup, “Baby Now That I’ve Found You” and “Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes).”

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.