Oscar nominations 2024: 'Oppenheimer' earns 13 nominations

The 2024 Oscar nominations were announced Tuesday morning following a turbulent year in Hollywood that included monthslong strikes, career-making masterpieces and record-breaking hits. Actors Zazie Beetz of “Atlanta” and Jack Quaid of “The Boys” hosted the livestream event.

Christopher Nolan’s “Oppenheimer” led with 13 nominations, including best director, best picture and acting nods for Cillian Murphy, Robert Downey Jr. and Emily Blunt. “Poor Things” earned 11 nominations, including lead actress Emma Stone and supporting actor Mark Ruffalo.

Box office juggernaut “Barbie” earned eight nominations, but its titular star, Margot Robbie, didn’t rate among the year’s best actresses.

The 96th Oscars will be held on March 10. The ceremony will be broadcast live on ABC at 7 p.m. ET. ABC late-night star Jimmy Kimmel will host the show for the fourth time and second consecutive year. He previously hosted in 2017 and 2018 as well.

“Oppenheimer” is considered a favorite for multiple awards, including best picture and best director. The film won both trophies at the Critics’ Choice Awards, which are often considered a useful Oscars predictor. If Nolan picks up either award, it will be his first Academy Award.

Paul Giamatti took home the Critics’ Choice Award for best actor for his work in “The Holdovers.” Prior to Tuesday, he had only ever been nominated for one Academy Award, for best supporting actor in 2006’s “Cinderella Man.”

If Stone repeats her Critics’ Choice success and wins best actress for “Poor Things,” she will take home her second Oscar statuette. Stone also won for 2017’s “La La Land.”

However, Stone’s win last week came as a surprise to Hollywood observers, who expected Lily Gladstone to win for “Killers of the Flower Moon.” If Gladstone wins best actress in March, it will be her first Oscar win.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Best picture

“American Fiction”

“Anatomy of a Fall”


“The Holdovers”

“Killers of the Flower Moon”



“Past Lives”

“Poor Things”

“The Zone of Interest”

Best actress

Annette Bening, “Nyad”

Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

Sandra Hüller, “Anatomy of a Fall”

Carey Mulligan, “Maestro”

Emma Stone, “Poor Things”

Best actor

Bradley Cooper, “Maestro”

Colman Domingo, “Rustin”

Paul Giamatti, “The Holdovers”

Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer”

Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction’

Supporting actor

Sterling K. Brown, “American Fiction”

Robert DeNiro, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

Robert Downey Jr., “Oppenheimer”

Ryan Gosling, “Barbie”

Mark Ruffalo, “Poor Things”

Supporting actress

Emily Blunt, “Oppenheimer”

Danielle Brooks, “The Color Purple”

America Ferrera, “Barbie”

Jodie Foster, “Nyad”

Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers"


Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest”

Yorgos Lanthimos, “Poor Things”

Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer”

Martin Scorsese, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

Justine Triet, “Anatomy of a Fall”

Animated film

“The Boy and the Heron”



“Robot Dreams”

“Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”

Documentary feature

“Bobi Wine: The People’s President”

“The Eternal Memory”

“Four Daughters”

“To Kill a Tiger”

“20 Days in Mariupol”

International feature film

"Io Capitano" (Italy)

"Perfect Days" (Japan)

"Society of the Snow" (Spain)

"The Teachers' Lounge" (Germany)

"The Zone of Interest" (United Kingdom)

Costume design

“Barbie” (Jacqueline Durran)

“Killers of the Flower Moon” (Jacqueline West)

“Napoleon” (David Crossman & Janty Yates)

“Oppenheimer” (Ellen Mirojnick)

“Poor Things” (Holly Waddington)

Original score

“American Fiction”

“Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny”

“Killers of the Flower Moon”


“Poor Things”

Original song

“The Fire Inside” from “Flamin’ Hot”

“I’m Just Ken” from “Barbie”

“It Never Went Away” from :American Symphony”

“Wahzhazhe (A Song For My People)” from “Killers of the Flower Moon”

“What Was I Made For?” from “Barbie”

Makeup and hairstyling




“Poor Things”

“Society of the Snow”

Production design


“Killers of the Flower Moon”



“Poor Things”

Film editing

“Anatomy of a Fall”

“The Holdovers”

“Killers of the Flower Moon”


“Poor Things”

Adapted screenplay

“American Fiction”



“Poor Things”

“Zone of Interest”

Original screenplay

“Anatomy of a Fall”

“The Holdovers”


“May December”

“Past Lives”

Animated short film

“Letter to a Pig”

“Ninety-Five Senses”

“Our Uniform”


“War Is Over! Inspired by the Music of John & Yoko”

Live action short film

“The After”


“Knight of Fortune”

“Red, White and Blue”

“The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar”


Edward Lachman, “El Conde”

Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

Matthew Libatique, “Maestro”

Hoyte van Hoytema, “Oppenheimer”

Robbie Ryan, “Poor Things”

Visual effects

“The Creator”

“Godzilla: Minus One”

“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”

“Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning, Part One”



“The Creator”


“Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One”


“The Zone of Interest”

Documentary short film

“The ABCs of Book Banning”

“The Barber of Little Rock”

“Island in Between”

“The Last Repair Shop”

“Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó”