Northern Ireland adds Malta, Madeira and Balearics to green list

·1-min read
The rugged north coast of Madeira (Getty Images/iStockphoto)
The rugged north coast of Madeira (Getty Images/iStockphoto)

Northern Ireland has upstaged the rest of the UK nations by revealing the traffic light changes ahead of the Department for Transport (DfT) announcement.

The NI Executive revealed at around 6.30pm that the Balearics, Malta, Madeira and a scattering of Caribbean islands would join the quarantine-free green list from 4am on Wednesday 30 June.

The Independent understands that the list aligns with the DfT’s categorisation.

The additions are:

  • Anguilla

  • Antigua & Barbuda

  • Balearic Islands

  • Barbados

  • Bermuda

  • British Antartic Territory

  • British Indian Ocean Territory

  • British Virgin Islands

  • Cayman Islands

  • Dominica

  • Grenada

  • Madeira

  • Malta

  • Montserrat

  • Pitcairn Islands

  • Turks & Caicos

Elsewhere, countries including Uganda, Kuwait and Dominican Republic have been added to NI’s red list.

Read More

Uganda, Dominican Republic and Tunisia among countries added to Northern Ireland red list

Green list countries latest update - live: Malta, Antigua and Madeira become quarantine-free

When is the next review of green list countries?

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting