NHL releases 2023 All-Star Game selections

Plenty of familiar names along with some fresh faces will take to the ice for this year's NHL All-Star Weekend in Sunrise, Florida.

Tage Thompson has been the NHL's breakout star this season. (Getty)
Tage Thompson has been the NHL's breakout star this season. (Getty)

The National Hockey League on Thursday announced the first 32 skaters — eight per division — selected to the 2023 All-Star Game.

These selections were chosen by the league’s department of hockey operations and are the first of a two-step player selection process, with fan voting completing the final stage. Online voting will take place until Jan. 17, and a separate Twitter voting system will occur from Jan. 12-14.

As part of the initial roster selections, one player from all 32 NHL franchises was chosen, with each division featuring seven skaters and one netminder.

Atlantic Division:

Boston Bruins - Linus Ullmark, G

Buffalo Sabres - Tage Thompson, F

Detroit Red Wings - Dylan Larkin, F

Florida Panthers - Matthew Tkachuk, F

Montreal Canadiens - Nick Suzuki, F

Ottawa Senators - Brady Tkachuk, F

Tampa Bay Lightning - Steven Stamkos, F

Toronto Maple Leafs - Mitch Marner, F

Metropolitan Division:

Carolina Hurricanes - Andrei Svechnikov, F

Columbus Blue Jackets - Johnny Gaudreau, F

New Jersey Devils - Jack Hughes, F

New York Islanders - Brock Nelson, F

New York Rangers - Igor Shesterkin, G

Philadelphia Flyers - Kevin Hayes, F

Pittsburgh Penguins - Sidney Crosby, F

Washington Capitals - Alex Ovechkin, F

Pacific Division:

Anaheim Ducks - Troy Terry, F

Calgary Flames - Nazem Kadri, F

Edmonton Oilers - Connor McDavid, F

Los Angeles Kings - Kevin Fiala, F

San Jose Sharks - Erik Karlsson, D

Seattle Kraken - Matty Beniers, F

Vancouver Canucks - Elias Pettersson, F

Vegas Golden Knights - Logan Thompson, G

Central Division:

Arizona Coyotes - Clayton Keller, F

Chicago Blackhawks - Seth Jones, D

Colorado Avalanche - Cale Makar, D

Dallas Stars - Jason Robertson, F

Minnesota Stars - Kirill Kaprizov, F

Nashville Predators - Juuse Saros, G

St. Louis Blues - Vladimir Tarasenko, F

Winnipeg Jets - Josh Morrissey, D

Final rosters and team captains for all four divisions will be unveiled on Jan. 19.

The 2023 All-Star Game festivities are being held in Sunrise, Florida, beginning with the skills competition on Feb. 3 and concluding with the annual 3-on-3 tournament on Feb. 4.

More from Yahoo Sports