1 / 22

Why travel to Transylvania?

There’s so much more to my dear Transylvania than Dracula and blood sucking vampires. This region of my country is beautiful, its people are kind, funny and smart, the landscapes are breathtaking, the food is a dream, there are amazing festivals and so much more.

A local's guide to Transylvania: The region's best kept travel secrets

I was born in Transylvania, in Cluj-Napoca to be precise. I studied in Rennes, France and uprooted to London where I live now. Throughout my life I’ve met many people who have wondered where I am from; some say Poland, some Sweden, but nobody ever guesses right.

Even though I’ve never had any unpleasant surprises, people are amazed to hear I’m from Transylvania. The ones that don’t know much about this world but are easily brainwashed by the media asked me, “How come you have fair skin and blonde hair?” Others start telling me lovely things about my country; they know about the Black Sea, they know about its past communist regime and maybe a few sport stars or famous singers.

But what they don’t know is that my country is beautiful, its people are kind, funny and smart, the landscapes are breathtaking, the food is a dream, there are amazing festivals and events and there’s much more to my dear Transylvania than Dracula and blood sucking vampires. There’s the freedom, the pure joy of being alive and the warmth of its people.

I’m not here to point out many historic facts, amazing castles or ski resorts that you can easily find with a simple online search. I am here to be concise and to pinpoint the six reasons why, as a local, I think youngsters and people of all ages should be interested in visiting Transylvania.

For more details on locations mentioned:

A la Tarte (bakery) https://www.facebook.com/alatartecluj

Bistro Viena (German restaurant) http://www.bistroviena.ro

Boema (restaurant) http://www.casaboema.com

Bujole (restaurant) http://www.bujole.com

Camino (restaurant & hotel) http://caminocluj.ro

Carrousel by Chios (restaurant/pub) http://carrousel.chios.ro

Chios Social Lounge (restaurant/pub) http://chios.ro/social-lounge

Da Pino (restaurant) http://dapino.ro/index.php/dapino-bistro.php

Euphoria Biergarten (beer garden/restaurant) http://biergarten.euphoria.ro

Hugo (restaurant & treats) http://www.hugorestaurants.ro

Insomnia (cafe/pub) https://www.facebook.com/insomniacafecluj

La Gazette (pub) https://www.facebook.com/pages/La-Gazette/121071701304461

Olivio (cafe & bistro) https://olivocaffe.com

Samsara Foodhouse (live & raw food restaurant – pretty amazing to be honest!) https://www.facebook.com/samsarafood/

Yolka (cafe/pub) https://www.facebook.com/baryolka

Zama Bistro (restaurant) http://zamabistro.ro

Photos by:

Christian Vadan https://www.instagram.com/christianvadan/

Petric Victor https://www.instagram.com/petric.victor/

Carla Vadan https://www.instagram.com/carlavadan/

There’s so much more to my dear Transylvania than Dracula and blood sucking vampires. This region of my country is beautiful, its people are kind, funny and smart, the landscapes are breathtaking, the food is a dream, there are amazing festivals and so much more.