Results from the 2020 NHL All-Star Skills competition

Kyle Cantlon
NHL Editor
Can any skaters take McDavid's crown? (Getty)

Live results from 2020 NHL All-Star Skills challenge in St. Louis.


Defending Champ — Connor McDavid (13.378s)

Competitors — Jack Eichel, Nathan MacKinnon, Connor McDavid, Mathew Barzal, Chris Kreider, Anthony Duclair, Travis Konecny, Philadelphia Flyers, Quinn Hughes.

2020 Winner — Mathew Barzal (13.175s)

We have a new king of the Fastest Skater event, as Islanders stud Mathew Barzal knocked off three-time defending champion Connor McDavid by a fingernail. Barzal finished just three 1/100th’s of a second off the all-time record set a couple years ago by Red Wings forward Dylan Larkin.


Defending Champ — Henrik Lundqvist (12 saves)

Competitors — David Rittich, Tristan Jarry, Jordan Binnington, Andrei Vasilevskiy, Frederik Andersen, Jacob Markstrom, Braden Holtby, Connor Hellebuyck.

2020 Winner — Jordan Binnington (10 saves)

Hometown hero Jordan Binnington took home this year’s goalie bragging rights, with his streak of 10 straight stops leading the way. None bigger, perhaps, than this sizzler on a Justin Bieber-disguised Tomas Hertl.


Defending Champ — David Pastrnak (11.309s)

Competitors — Jaccob Slavin, Tyler Bertuzzi, Leon Draisaitl, Jonathan Huberdeau, Tomas Hertl, Alex Pietrangelo, Mark Scheifele.

2020 Winner — Jaccob Slavin (9.505s)

Hurricanes blueliner Jaccob Slavin takes home this year’s most accurate shooter crown by a landslide, posting a sub-10-second mark and beating David Pastrnak’s 2019 mark by nearly two seconds.


For the first time ever, 20 of the top women’s players — representing Canada and the USA — squared off in a 20-minute, three-on-three exhibition, and it didn’t disappoint one bit.

USA All-Stars:
Kacey Bellamy
Alex Carpenter
Kendall Coyne Schofield
Brianna Decker
Amanda Kessel
Hilary Knight
Jocelyn Lamoureux-Davidson
Annie Pankowski
Alex Rigsby Cavallini
Lee Stecklein

Canadian All-Stars:
Meghan Agosta
Mélodie Daoust
Ann-Renée Desbiens
Renata Fast
Laura Fortino
Rebecca Johnston
Sarah Nurse
Marie-Philip Poulin
Natalie Spooner
Blayre Turnbull

When the back-and-forth chaos subsided, it was the Canadian side taking a tight 2-1 affair, with Rebecca Johnston and Mélodie Daoust scoring for Canada. Hilary Knight scored the lone tally for the American squad.


Defending Champ — John Carlson (102.8 mph, 100.8 mph)

Competitors — Mark Giordano, Seth Jones, Shea Weber, Victor Hedman, Elias Pettersson, John Carlson.

2020 Winner — Shea Weber (106.5 mph, 105.9 mph)

Canadiens gun-slinger Shea Weber reclaimed his crown as the NHL’s heaviest shooter, taking down last year’s champ John Carlson with a 106.5 mile-per-hour rip.


The inaugural Shooting Stars event, in which players fire pucks from the rafters to various targets on and over the ice surface, started off a little awkward and certainly had its flaws.

When all was said and done, however, it was an arena-quieting overtime win for Patrick Kane, who edged out Mitch Marner to take the crown.

Shooting Stars Final Results:

Marie-Philip Poulin (CAN) — 15 points

Hilary Knight (USA) — 14 points

David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins — 10 points

Matthew Tkachuk, Calgary Flames — 20 points

Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks — 22 points (2 in OT)

Tyler Seguin, Dallas Stars — 14 points

Brady Tkachuk, Ottawa Senators — 6 points

Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues — 14 points

David Perron, St. Louis Blues — 14 points

Mitch Marner, Toronto Maple Leafs — 22 points

More NHL coverage from Yahoo Sports