Coronavirus: Government publishes full list of local alert levels by area

Samuel Osborne
·1-min read

The government has released the full list of the local coronavirus alert levels by area after Boris Johnson announced the new three-tiered system in Parliament.

Under the new system, different areas of England will be split up into medium, high and very high alert levels, with the three tiers representing an advancing scale of local lockdown restrictions.

Here is the full list of local Covid-19 alert levels by area.

Medium alert level

All areas of England is under the medium alert level, subject subject to the same national measures currently applied across the country, including the 10pm curfew for pubs and restaurants and a ban on most gatherings of more than six people.

High alert level

In high alert level areas, household mixing is banned indoors, though support bubbles are still permitted, while the rule of six will continue to apply.

Most areas which are already subject to local restrictions will move to this level, according to the prime minister.

The areas under a high alert level include:

  • Cheshire

  • Greater Manchester

  • Warrington

  • Derbyshire

  • Lancashire

  • West Yorkshire

  • South Yorkshire

  • North East

  • Tees Valley

  • West Midlands

  • Leicester

  • Nottingham

Very high alert level

At the highest alert level, social mixing will be banned both indoors and in private gardens, while pubs and bars will be told to close unless they can operate as a restaurant.

Local leaders will help to determine whether other venues should be closed, such as gyms or casinos.

People will also be advised against travel in and out of the areas.

The Liverpool City Region will be placed under a very high alert level from Wednesday.