Boygenius announce new EP ‘The Rest’ featuring new track ‘Black Hole’

Boygenius have announced a new EP. (Getty Images for Coachella)
Boygenius have announced a new EP. (Getty Images for Coachella)

Boygenius have announced a new EP ‘The Rest’ following the release of their first full-length album ‘The Record’ in March.

The EP consists of four tracks. The first track is titled Black Hole, but the other three tracks’ titles are yet to be revealed.

The band – consisting of Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus, and Julien Baker – announced the EP by playing Black Hole to fans at a gig in Boston on Monday night, with clips of the song already circulating on TikTok.

Fans on TikTok couldn’t contain their excitement, with one saying “life has meaning again,” and another commenting “I’m already insufferable about this.”

Fortunately, fans won’t have to wait long to hear some brand new boygenius tracks. The Rest will be released on Friday, October 13, but is already available to pre-save on streaming platforms like Spotify and Apple Music.

Fans of the supergroup are also able to pre-order The Rest on vinyl for £19.99 or on CD for £7.99.

The band has been touring in recent months, playing in London’s Gunnersbury Park in August – which the Evening Standard described the concert as a “flawless day of music” – supported by Muna and Ethel Cain.

They end their current tour on October 31 in Los Angeles.

The EP comes just months after the release of ‘The Record’, which was given five stars by David Smyth in his review for the Evening Standard.

Smyth wrote: “From the matching tattoos on their three wrists on the cover of this debut album, to the intense collaboration and deep mutual admiration that is plain in every song here, it looks like this is a band that will last.”

They previously released a self-titled EP in 2018 but then went on to work on their solo projects. In 2020, Bridgers released Punisher, and in 2021, Dacus released Home Video while Baker released Little Oblivions.