Revealed: Full List Of High-Risk Countries That Mean Quarantine Hotel Stays

Rachel Wearmouth
·Political correspondent, HuffPost UK
·1-min read

Home secretary Priti Patel has announced that international arrivals from “high-risk” countries must now spend 10 days in a quarantine hotel.

The move is aimed at avoiding new variants of Covid-19 reaching the UK, which this week saw its virus death toll exceed 100,000.

Though strongly opposed by the under-pressure travel industry, critics of the government say Boris Johnson should have imposed stricter border rules months ago.

Below is the list of countries the government has categorised as “red list” by the government. Travel for non-UK residents from these countries is already banned.

Everyone coming to the UK from these destinations will have to spend 10 days in a hotel, at their own cost:

  • Angola

  • Argentina

  • Bolivia

  • Botswana

  • Brazil

  • Cape Verde

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Democratic Republic of Congo

  • Ecuador

  • Eswatini

  • French Guiana

  • Guyana

  • Lesotho

  • Malawi

  • Mauritius

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia

  • Panama

  • Paraguay

  • Peru

  • Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores)

  • Seychelles

  • South Africa

  • Suriname

  • Tanzania

  • Uruguay

  • Venezuela

  • Zambia

  • Zimbabwe

This is a breaking news story and will be updated. Follow HuffPost UK on Twitter here, and on Facebook here.


How Britain Succumbed To Covid

Boris Johnson Says He 'Truly Did Everything' To Stop Covid As UK Marks 100,000 Dead

How Not To Quarantine: The Deadly Hotel Isolation Mistakes The UK Must Avoid

This article originally appeared on HuffPost UK and has been updated.