7 of the best Dorothy Koomson books

Ella Dove
·4-min read
Photo credit: Niall McDiarmid
Photo credit: Niall McDiarmid

From Good Housekeeping

Books have always been central to Sunday Times bestselling author Dorothy Koomson’s life.

As a child, she would go to the library every day after school. A self-confessed daydreamer, she wrote her first ‘novel’ aged 13, writing a chapter every night and passing them to her friends at convent school to read.

After a successful career in journalism, her first novel, The Cupid Effect, was published in 2003. To date, she has written 15 novels. Her books have been translated into over 30 languages, and in 2013, a TV adaptation based on her brilliant novel The Ice Cream Girls was shown on ITV.

Her novels are known for their gripping plot lines, guaranteed to get your heart racing.

Wondering where to start? Wonder no more. We’ve rounded up our favourite Dorothy Koomson books, so dig in and enjoy!

The Ice Cream Girls

Serena and Poppy were teenagers when they were branded as the Ice Cream Girls. When they were accused of murder, one of them was sent to prison, while the other was set free. Now, 20 years later, one of them is doing all she can to clear her name and the other is frantically trying to keep her secrets. A very cleverly crafted psychological thriller, with a plot full of secrets and surprises.

My Best Friend’s Girl

One of Dorothy Koomson’s earlier novels, My Best Friend’s Girl is a story of friendship in all forms. At college, best friends Adele Brannon and Kamryn Matika thought nothing could come between them—until Adele did the unthinkable and slept with Kamryn’s fiancé. After years of silence, the two women reunite, and Adele has a very surprising request for her old friend - she wants Kamryn to adopt her five-year-old daughter, Tegan. A novel that asks a pertinent question: what would you do for the best friend who broke your heart?

Tell Me Your Secret

This book is full of twists and turns, an emotional thriller about Pieta, a woman who was kidnapped ten years ago and is now in danger again, and Jody, a policewoman who made a terrible mistake that resulted in that same kidnapper escaping justice. This novel encapsulates why Dorothy Koomson has been dubbed ‘queen of the big reveal’ – say no more!


All My Lies Are True

The sequel to The Ice Cream Girls is just as compelling as the first book. Poppy and Serena are back, and the events of The Ice Cream Girls are still affecting them, 30 years later. The chapters are narrated by Poppy, Serena and Serena’s daughter, Verity, all of whom have their own secrets and lies to navigate. The question is, whose lies are going to end in tragedy?

The Brighton Mermaid

Many of Koomson’s books are set in and around her hometown of Brighton, and this novel about two teenagers who find the body of a young woman on Brighton beach is full of vivid setting and suspense. Three weeks after ‘The Brighton Mermaid’ is found, one of those teenagers, Jude, disappears. 25 years on, the other teenager, Nell, is still struggling with the memories of what happened. But as she edges closer to the truth, dangerous things begin to happen….


Goodnight, Beautiful

Described as ‘perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult’, this book is a brilliant portrayal of friendship, family and the complex issue of surrogacy. Nova agreed to be surrogate mother for her friend Mal and his wife – and yet eight years later, she finds herself bringing up their son alone. But seven-year-old Leo is critically ill and Nova, despite her anger and hurt, wants Mal to have the chance to know his son before it's too late. Will it take tragedy to remind them how much they mean to each other?

I Know What You’ve Done

Coming in July 2021.

One for your pre-order list! Dorothy Koomson’s new novel is set to be thrilling, intense and packed full of suspense. It asks: what would you do if all your neighbours’ secrets landed in a diary on your doorstep? And what if the woman who gave it to you was murdered by one of the people in the diary? Would you hand over to the police? Or would you try to find out what everyone had done? Get ready, because the queen of the big reveal is about to strike again…

Like this article? Sign up to our newsletter to get more articles like this delivered straight to your inbox.
SIGN UP

In need of some positivity or not able to make it to the shops? Enjoy Good Housekeeping delivered directly to your door every month! Subscribe to Good Housekeeping magazine now.

SUBSCRIBE NOW

You Might Also Like